SCA

Weekend Update

This weekend was Masque of Courtly Love, I had a bit of ‘don’t wanna’ running through my veins, but I’d promised to run dancing at the event so I got my stuff together (after some small hunting… it’s been a loooooooong time since I ran a dance class!) and the hubby and I headed down for the event. Being close enough we got to sleep in a little, which was needed. I did not sleep well Friday night, boo.

We arrived in plenty of time, I found out where my classroom was and the boom box was handy and lo, my CD even worked. *whew!* (I know, I’m such a dinosaur, no one uses CDs and boom boxes anymore!)
When it was time for the class I had… one student. Alas! Well, I thought, what’s a dance I can do with just two people? Rosti Bolli! I started teaching him, and myself because rusty! and by the time I got through teaching, 7 more people had appeared πŸ™‚ We did several more dances, and got quite a bit done in that one hour. Yay!

Then I had to find the husband, who was in the lunch hall, to get car keys to put the dance stuff in the car and get my rapier gear out of it. And I had some lunch and chatting too… which was bad because by the time I got my gear and got to the list… I’d missed entering the round robin tourney. Boo! So I waited for the tourney to be over so I could fight pick ups. There was a very entertaining Barrier fight on the armoured list that was fun to watch so I didn’t mind too much. Alas, not a lot of people were still standing after the round robin. I did get a few bouts in though so I got sweaty and that’s a good thing, eh?

I armed down and got into my pretty stuff again. Proud of me for remembering essentials like a clean set of under-things and deodorant, heh.Β  Must remember a plastic bag to put wet washcloth in after washing up. As a new fighter, there is much to learn in logistics. πŸ™‚ Had some fun conversations with folks. Had a heart-to-heart with Pietro about The Path and how great he’d look with a green belt on πŸ˜‰ So I’m calling the day a marked success.

Hubby got to play his ukelele with Her Majesty and did a lot of schmoozing of his own. Court was good, very glad to see Hugh the Silent receive a court Baronetcy. It’s nice to see quiet, long service people recognized. πŸ™‚

We hit the road and got dinner with Pietro and Aurellia, which was fabulous. Good burgers, great conversation.

Sunday was mostly errands and such. My new book arrived on archeological textiles, can’t wait to dive through it! and ran into a snag on the doily I’m knitting, row 27 makes NO SENSE whatsoever. Grr. Row 32 is the last row, I’m so close! and yet, so far. hmf.

Leave a comment